Gallery
  • Book Online

  • StarStarStarStarStar
Customer Reviews

 

"Excellent evening meal"
Reviewed June 23, 2013
My wife, daughter, her husband and I had a lovely meal here (Sat 22 Jun 2013).

Old building with a modern designed interior, clean, tidy and with pleasant staff. My wife and I stayed here on our wedding night back in 1977 when it was called 'The Falcon' and have returned a few times since, but usually just for a beer or two. We shall be eating here again now as well.

Cask ales from Hobson's and a good wine list at sensible prices helped to ensure we drank well and our food was perfect, we all had a different starter and main course, so eight plates for the chef to prepare. Each one was consumed with gusto and every plate went back clean of food.

We were too full for a dessert, but they sounded good.

"Fantastic food in a relaxed atmosphere."
Reviewed June 17, 2013
We stayed for two nights and enjoyed our stay. I can totally recommend the food, both breakfast and evening meals were great and reasonably priced. When we went to bed the manager was working and when we got up for breakfast he was on duty again, don't think he ever sleeps! (I presume the hotel manager, if not he should be).

My only complaint was the bed was very hard, it must be difficult to please everyone as I know many people prefer a hard bed, however I love a very soft bed. We both found it very difficult to sleep.

The location was great to explore the countryside and walk up The Wrekin.

"First and Not Last"
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile
It was our first eating experience at The Old Orleton and it won't be our last. From the Spring menu, I had the cured beef to start. It was really delicious. My Husband had the trout and he enjoyed that too. For main I had the goats cheese filo pie. A little more goats cheese would have been nice as I could barely taste it and for me a little less pastry, but I still liked the dish. My Husband had the ribeye steak. He said it was the best steak he's ever had (and he's had a lot of steaks). He said it was cooked perfectly to his taste and he didn't need a steak knife, as it was like cutting through butter. The portions were generous. Nothing worse than measly portions, especially when it comes to chips too. But there was plenty and we didn't leave a morsel on our plates. My only criticism is that they have these huge lamp shades dangling down over the table. They kind of loom over you and when the waiter came to take our order, we had to duck and dive and lean around them to make eye contact with him. But it didn't spoil our actual dinner - just thought the table could do without them. Anyway, we will still return and look forward to trying the Summer menu....

"Excellent food in a relaxed atmosphere"
Reviewed June 5, 2013
We visited The Old Orleton last night using a voucher offer and thoroughly enjoyed it.
The atmosphere is relaxed and friendly and although the restaurant was quite busy the service and the food were excellent.
I chose the home cured beef followed by the beer battered fish and chips, good choices, my husband loved his camembert starter and ribeye steak. My only disappointment was that I was so full I had no space for pud!
Definitely another visit required so I can have one next time.

"Excellent Sunday lunch"
Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile
This is the second time my partner and I have had Sunday lunch here. The Inn is conveniently located a few minutes from the M54 and is ideal for lunch after a morning stroll up the Wrekin. My partner is vegetarian and there was a choice of two imaginative choices for her, much better than the average offering. She opted for the vegetarian haggis which was quite large but actually quite light. She couldn't finish it but the proprietor was happy to wrap it in foil to take home. I had the roast beef which was cooked perfectly and a generous portion - not the usual two slices! The meals came with roast and boiled potatoes and a selection of steamed veg. Our only complaint was the roasties were a bit anaemic and not as light as they could be. There was a good choice of desserts. The base of the cheesecake was a little thick but I am nit-picking! The food was delicious and the portions generous - 2 courses was plenty and the price was very reasonable. Service was good and unobtrusive. The decor is sympathetic to the building and the toilets are modern and spotless. We will definitely eat here again.

"Could find no fault, first class"
Reviewed May 30, 2013
Loved this place, great views form our window across to the hills. We had a large room very well decorated and all spotlessly clean. There is a bar and evening meals are served as well. The breakfast was gut busting and I was unable to eat all of it, a rare occasion. Recommended.

"Lovely, boutique rooms"
Reviewed May 27, 2013
Excellent place to stay: good location with close access to motorway, and although on a fairly busy road we were not troubled by traffic noise. Don't be put off by the spartan appearance outside - it improves dramatically as soon as you get indoors. It is an old coaching inn, so don't expect hotel space, but it really is something special. Our bedroom - a twin with bath - was beautifully appointed, and bathroom was excellent although plumbing (including that from the next bedroom) can be rather noisy and irritating. Twin beds were ok but a little on the soft side. More than enough storage space so we didn't have to live out of the suitcase. Complimentary water and snacks were replaced daily. Breakfast is excellent - good choices and lots of it - but buffet counter was cramped and would have been better placed outside the main dining room. Dinner was excellent - booking is a must as the restaurant was always busy, with locals using it. Menu somewhat limited but really well cooked. Winelist more than adequate. Prices are reasonable and there are discounts available for early diners. Bar was very welcoming and very well-stocked with some unusual bottles, but can be a little cramped when busy - which was often! Very friendly, helpful staff throughout the inn. We will be back when next in this area!

"Lovely place to stay"
Reviewed May 22, 2013
This is a great place to stay - wonderful, individually decorated rooms with everything that you could possibly need. Clean & comfortable, good sized rooms. Great location, just off the M54, but right on the edge of town, so nice quiet location. The owner and the staff were extremely helpful and professional, good friendly service all round.
Highly recommended and would certainly stay again when next visiting the area.

"Great food"
Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile
Went on a travel zoo deal and had a great meal. 2 courses, ample portions and excellent food well presented.
Interesting location and atmosphere. Very friendly and welcoming. Wine and food very reasonably priced.
We will be back.

"Excellent food, attentive service"
Reviewed May 18, 2013
We recently arranged a celebration lunch for eleven people. Paul, the joint proprietor who deals with such events, was creative and responsive to our needs during planning, He had good "standard" menus and arrangements but was also prepared to be flexible and modify them to our needs, including our desire to provide our own wines subject to a reasonable corkage charge.

The menu was quite complex - eight courses starting with savouries to go with a glass of champagne, and ending with chocolate enrobed fruits to go with coffee. We largely went with the chef's suggested ideas, but the alterations we asked for received good responses.

On the day, everything went very smoothly. All the courses were well received by us all, the only (hardly negative) comment being that the meringue which formed part of the dessert in the seventh course could have been smaller! The inevitable individual needs ("no mushrooms for me", "no seafood for me" "can I have a different sorbet") were accommodated smilingly and efficiently. The service was attentive without being obtrusive, and we felt no time pressure - we started at 12.30 and finished at almost five pm.

The standard menus look reasonably priced, and we were very happy with the overall cost for our special occasion. I have no hesitation in giving an excellent rating.

"lovely food & bedroom"
Reviewed April 11, 2013
having driven round trying to find a decent restaurant in previuos years we decided to stay & eat in same place . T his was a great find and it was so nice to not spend ages looking for food . Throughly enjoyed meal . and breakfast . Only tiny niggles . The wardrobe was not long enough to hang my dress in due to the bottom being occupied by fridge & drawers . And the green policy of reusing towels was somewhat negated by the plastic bags used to wrap up the soap dish and glasses . yes it is nice to have them kept clean but you must get through a lot of plastic .. room on 2nd floor with view of Wrekin & snow was pleasant . Thank you !

"Lovely atmosphere"
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile
During a short break at Telford we struggled to find good restaurants.

On the particular night that we ate at the Old Orleton Inn, it was a little by accident as the place we were initially going to was shut.

We arrived fairly late (due to us driving all round Telford trying to find a suitable place) to find the Inn very busy.

We overheard the owner on the telephone saying that they'd put on a new deal and had received an overwhelming response. This made us think that we were not going to get a table.

However, the staff were very friendly and helpful and managed to find us a table.

We had cheese garlic bread to start with sweet pepper, tomato and onion which was delicious.

For the main I then had port and Stilton rib eye steak. This dish was very tasty and very nicely presented but I struggled to finish it due to the fact that it was very rich and sickly.

The rooms were very nicely decorated and it had a lively buzzing atmosphere.

Fairly expensive but an enjoyable evening.

"Stylish, modern, clean - fantastic"
Reviewed February 24, 2013
Stayed in room 5 - four poster bed, spa bath and beautifully decorated. This hotel is a real gem, the service is top notch, food great value, with a great twist and hearty portions. Would definitely recommend.

"superb hotel"
Reviewed February 15, 2013
superb hotel and staff,beautiful food, attentive staff, excellent place to stay, real character the old orleton is well worth a visit, breakfast was as good as dinner, not rushed,we will be back vety soon

"Superb"
Reviewed February 11, 2013
We've stayed at some of the world's best hotels and the Old Orleton is right up there with the best. This is a superb boutique hotel just outside Telford. Decor is amazing. Rooms, public areas and corridors are spotlessly clean.
We had the superior room that has a settee and two armchairs in . Whirlpool bath was very nice indeed. Service was friendly, attentive and polite but not over the top or phoney as it is in some boutique hotels.
Food was first class. I went for bread with olives to start - very generous helping. Main course, I had the fillet steak. Nice size steak and lightly battered tempura veg. I usually find tempura too heavy, but this was great. My wife had the fishcakes that were lovely. The wine was El Torereo merlot for around £14 that had a fabulous smoky flavour.

Bed was a very comfortable 4 poster. Breakfast the next morning was great. Very good quality sausages, eggs and bacon along with a very good selection of cold breakfast stuff.

Overall, a seriously good hotel that we couldn't fault. All credit goes to the owners who have obviously put in a lot of care and hard work into making this work.

"Couldn't fault our Christmas treat!"
Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile
We came for a meal the week before Xmas and we couldn't have enjoyed it more. The welcome from the bar staff was so welcoming, then we were shown to a lovely table.
We had the seafood salad which my partner said was amazing and I had the vegetarian pâté with a great selection of bread.
We can't fault it one bit and are looking forward to a Valentines meal there very soon. Thank you for the great meal in your lovely restaurant.

"Can't fault it."
Reviewed January 10, 2013
We had our Christmas lunch here and it was faultless. The welcome from the staff, the food and drink was delivered promptly and with some style.

The food was nothing short of amazing. Thoughtfully devised dishes presented beautifully and plenty of it. Heaps of veg in serving dishes at the table.

This place has to be the best restaurant in the area by a long chalk.

"Good service food was fabulous!!!!!!!"
Reviewed January 4, 2013
Found the old Orleton in late December.after a trip to vist friends was given a warm welcome the surroundings were nice .the food and service were top draw .could not ask for more .well done all .we will be back !!!

"Get Together"
Reviewed December 20, 2012
Party of 10 Friend and Neighbours Every Year Get together, so we choose The Old Orleton
Fab Food, Staff very good. Starters great! I choose the Veg Food, bit spicey for me.
But very nice and we had a great time....
"Old Orleton Inn certainly thrilled and delighted my client"
Reviewed December 6, 2012
I was on the road with foreign speaker and I needed to entertain / give them a guided tour between speaking venues. I think it best described as 'a working break' for my client. We arrived late at 1am, having rung the Old Orleton Inn (OOI) earlier in the evening to let them know we'd be landing at unsocial hours. 'No problem' they said.

The OOI was easy to find, about 5 minutes off the M54, and it's exceedingly handy for Ironbridge. It benefits from a decent amount of free car parking and the back entrance was well lit. We were politely let in and shown to our twin room. My North American client's eyes lit up.

This building has been sympathetically updated and decorated. It is tasteful, immaculate and a lot of thought has gone into both the hard and soft décor. There are a lot of great touches - the fire doors on the stairs, the bedroom door lock, etc.

The bathroom had a larger than average shower, reputable smellies, the right number and size of towels for two people and lashings of hot water. Meanwhile the bedroom had nice bedding (including much welcomed blankets), enough space for bags, and we discovered goodies. (Water, chocolate, tea making facilities etc).

We walked into Breakfast late (combination of jet lag and exhaustion). Again this was not a problem. We were not made to feel we were a nuisance dining late, nor did the buffet look as though a plague of locusts had already dined. There was an impressive choice of quality local produce to tempt our appetites. The cooked breakfast was generous and they served us real mushrooms. (Not the nasty tinned version). In addition we were not rushed or encouraged to leave the breakfast room.

After breakfast we both needed to work before moving on. The free WiFi was efficient for both of us, and we were able to have a late checkout without being penalized. Again 'no problem'. It's small things like this that make such a huge difference.

My client loved this Inn and said so. He delighted in the architecture, the service and the food.

If you have business in Ironbridge or around the Telford area and need a base, I heartedly recommend the Old Orleton Inn. It is fairly priced, the service is exemplary and the venue immaculate.

I will certainly come back again.

Note - this is not an ideal overnight venue for disabled clients. This is not a criticism, it is an observation.

We slept at the front of the house, and were completely undisturbed. We didn't hear any external noise and both had a very good nights sleep.

This venue would be ideal for; business, couples, friends, solo. I think it would be ok for family, but do not know what family rooms they have.

"Great place to stay and food yummy"
Reviewed December 4, 2012
Stayed for one night only wish it had been longer
Room 5 really special decor every thing was so very tastefull
-4 poster bed was so comfortable.
Evening meal was super couldn't manage a dessert.Breakfast was yummy

"Excellent inn"
Reviewed November 16, 2012
We stayed last night in this lovely inn. The staff were among the friendliest we ever met and couldn't do enough for us. The food was second to none, freshly cooked and local. The room decor was immaculate and indeed have us great ideas for our own home. We would definitely recommend this inn to anyone who wanted a special treat.

"Comfortable and well done"
Reviewed November 7, 2012
Really enjoyed our one night stay at this hotel/Inn. The room was on the top floor with a lovely view of oak trees and fields. The road was no problem-certainly no noise. The room itself was really comfortable and had everything we needed-the bed was great and the shower room well kitted out. We really appreciated the chocolates and the selection of drinks in the room.We ate at night in the restaurant on the "early deal" -order before 6.30pm. The food was v. good and the atmostphere friendly and relaxing. The breakfast was excellent- fresh fruit, yoghurts as well as usual stuff + the cooked full English was very good.The staff were friendly and helpful. The whole place has been carefully and tastefully done up. Look forward to going again. So many places to see round there.

"one of the best"
Reviewed November 5, 2012
Stayed here at the end of October 2012 after reading the excellent reviews and was not disappointed - it was lovely . The place oozes character , the rooms are very comfortable (we stayed in a superior room with a spa bath ) , the staff could not have been more helpful and friendly and the food was superb.
I would certainly recommend it to others .

"Charming and comfortable."
Reviewed October 26, 2012
Gorgeous boutique hotel decorated to within an inch of its life! Gorgeous fabrics and textiles everywhere, almost theatrical. Very pretty place.
Every home comfort here, from glamorous dressing table with mirror in the room (sadly missing these days from many hotel rooms) to water, chocolates and generous tea and coffee facilities.
Dinner and breakfast were freshly cooked, very large portions, in the comfortable and smart dining room. Faux open fires added to the ambiance. Free wi-fi. We only spent one night here en route from Scotland to London via Ironbridge, but would come back when we're next in the area.

"The Old Orleton Inn"
Reviewed October 2, 2012
This is one of the nicest hotels i have stayed in. it is Independently run and you can really tell.
Our room was lovely and very clean.The chocolates, water and the other little extra's made this even nicer. All the staff were polite and friendly. We ate in the restaurant in the evening. The service was good. You have to wait a long time for your meal as it is freshly cooked but it did say this on the menu. Breakfast was the same as it took over half hour for our food but again it was freshly cooked and we were in no hurry. If we re in the area i would use this hotel again.

"Could not expect any more"
Reviewed September 25, 2012
For a room and meals, the attention given to detail was outstanding for an Inn. I have stopped in faceless 5 star hotels that would be shamed by the Orleton. The room size was in line with the price paid, so why a rating of 4 rather than 5, simply because of the road noise getting into the bedroom. Holyhead road was the main route between London to North Wales and is still busy. The Orleton also stands on a busy junction. Closing the double glazed windows reduces the noise however the room becomes warm especially when wrapped in the cosy bed and linen.
If you are not concerned about noise go for it, if you are used to silent nights then at least try the excellent meals. Credit to the owners well done!

"Fantastic stay; excellent dinner"
Reviewed September 24, 2012
We stayed a night at the hotel, and enjoyed a fantastic evening meal. The room was spacious, with a well equipped en-suite shower room, and the worlds most advanced TV. Little touches like two alarm clocks were appreciated (but not used!), as was teh attention to wether we would be eating (of course!) and when would we like a table booked for.

The hotel itself is clearly well maintained, but is 'dressed' to suit its Victorian heritage, so I think it looked fabulous.

Dinner was from a 'traditional' menu - by which I mean, local food, and 'english' style dishes. My Wellington Lamb main course was excellent. My only criticism was that after a starter and main course there was no room for desert!

Breakfast was a combination of 'self serve' fruit salads, breads and cereals and freshly cooked food. I had salmon and scrambled eggs, whilst my partner had the 'full english'. Both set us up for the day. Can't blam the hotel for the weather though.

Would I go again, to a hotel only 30 miles from home? Absolutely. Can't say fairer than that really.

"One to recommend"
Reviewed September 14, 2012
We chose to stay 2 nights here for our wedding anniversary & were not disappointed. The staff were all extremely helpful & friendly. Our room with the four-poster bed was lovely, quiet & spotlessly clean. Our excellent, huge breakfast lasted us all day & the evening meal was really good although a little on the pricey side. We would not hesitate to recommend this Inn to anyone. Excellent location too.

"Excellent Sunday lunch"
Reviewed September 9, 2012
Had Sunday lunch here today to celebrate my Mother's 83rd birthday. This restaurant is a regular favourite of ours, but this was the first time we have been there for Sunday lunch. Excellent value for money -£13.95 for 2 courses - very good choice of both starters and mains including 2 imaginative vegetarian choices. Freshly cooked seasonal veg, loads of potatoes and friendly and efficient service. Will most certainly be visiting on Sunday again.

"A great place to spend a weekend"
Reviewed September 8, 2012
We came here at the third attempt! They seemed busy, which is always a good sign. I see other people came here on a Red Letter Day, as we did.
The place is really something. Good rooms, great decor and so friendly. The staff really made us welcome and couldn't do enough for us. We chose to eat here too, and that was a good choice! The food is quite amazing. Not the cheapest, but you can't say it isn't value for money.
Another thing that I liked was the choice of real ales from local breweries. Not a vast choice by any means, but nice beer and I didn't feel like we were being ripped off price wise.
We stayed here due to the proximity of Ironbridge Gorge and its attractions. We will certainly be back.

"Fantastic, will definitely be back!"
Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile
Went to this pub after taking advice from a friend that it was a good pub to take the girlfriend too!
We both ordered steak with chips & battered vegetables. The menu try's to provide a contemporary twist on most pub grub! Although it is slightly more pricey then your average pub it is definitely worth paying for as both our steaks were cooked to perfection and the rest of the meal was great! Waiters and waitress were attentative at all times and we received good customer service! Will be back again shortly! Total meal cost, around £25 a head with drinks.

"really lovely place"
Reviewed August 26, 2012
we stayed here using one of our 'red letter day' vouchers. We did a lot of searching and review reading before we went for the Old Orleton Inn. The Inn is beautifully decorated throughout from the rooms, hallways to the bar and restaurant downstairs. We got a friendly welcome on arrival and were able to book in to the hotels restaurant for dinner that evening.
A lot of thought is put in to the sourcing and cooking of the food here, and a nights stay with dinner would really suit a 'foodie'. Dinner was lovely, as was the wide range of choice for breakfast. The service was excellant.
If you want to explore Ironbridge and the surrounding area this place is a definate option for a great nights sleep and good food in really high standard accomodation.

"Great Hotel, lovely food"
Reviewed July 24, 2012
We stayed here for two nights as part of a red letter day voucher to visit the ironbridge and surrounding areas.

The room - we had a room on the top floor overlooking the road/countryside. Very quiet room, but the bathroom was very small and the window was also quite small so room on the dark side. However, lovely decor and very clean.

Hotel - the hotel is decorated to a very high standard, modern yet rustic inkeeping with the surroundings. Bar prices reasonable and lovely beer garden at the back of the hotel.

Food - breakfast very nice and huge portions. Full english breakfast cooked to requirement and also fresh fruit and cereal available. Pastries/pancakes were slightly stale however and could do with being covered to prevent this. Very freshly squeezed juice and fresh decantered coffee.

Overall we had a fab stay at the hotel and if visiting the area, would recommend. 10min drive to Ironbridge, further 10mins to Much Wenlock and 15 mins to Shrewsbury. We did not fancy the menu of an evening at the hotel so walked to a local pub called the Wickets Inn about 15min walk left out the hotel. Good food, very large portions and nice atmosphere.

"FANTASTIC"
Reviewed July 18, 2012
These hotel was spot on! From the moment we arrived we knew we had picked an excellent hotel to stay in for the night. The room was one of the cleanest I had ever been in, everything was immaculate and so well decorated! There was a huge range of tea, coffee, hot chocolate, biscuits and chocs. I have stayed at the Dorchester in London on a few occassions and can honestly say it was cleaner than there.

The food was lovely and the service excellent. We had a yummy 3 course dinner with wine and in the morning we had a full English which was one of the best I have tasted. The selection of other bits of food at breakfast was brilliant.

"Wonderful Hotel - Well Worth a Visit.."
Reviewed July 16, 2012
Just back from a weekend visit to the Old Orleton Inn, the moment we arrived we new we had chosen the right place to stay, beautiful and tastefully decorated, dining room, bar & lounges, our room was very comfortable, spotless clean,bright & spacious, again, the decor and furnishings were just lovely, a charming place to stay.
We ate in the hotel for breakfast & dinner our meals were delicious and well worth staying for..
Will definately be back again to the Old Orleton Inn where our hosts made us very welcome and nothing was a bother to them.
Well done Peter, Paul & Staff.

"A real gem...first class"
Reviewed July 10, 2012
From the very first moment I got here this fantastic hotel hit all the right notes. My room is compact but beautifully appointed, clean and comfortable. If you're looking for a place to eat, stay, socialise, relax whilst visiting Telford or the surrounding area then this is it. I travel all over the world with my job and it's rare you find such a charming place. First rate.

"Birthday celebration"
Reviewed July 2, 2012
A fabulous meal cooked to perfection, the only let down was after ordering wine with the meal having to ask for an ice bucket to place it in, but that aside a very enjoyable evening spent with family and friends.

"Wow loved it"
Reviewed June 24, 2012
stayed there late in june. such a lovely hotel, you can tell the owners have spent the time to create a charming hotel. Four poster bed, whirlpool bath, scrummy full english breakfast and very pleasant staff. So refreshing not to stay in a box with a bed. Brilliant

"Very Tasty"
Reviewed June 18, 2012
Really well thought out menu very simple food but done amazingly! Their home made chunky chips were heavenly! Very friendly staff and the owner was lovely to chat to before dinner. We did not stay the night here but after seeing the gardens and the view we would definitely stay here next time.

"Really unusual menu well prepared and presented"
Reviewed June 7, 2012
Having failed to plan to take out my mother for her birthday I rang to see if we could get a table and was pleasantly surprised to get one at 7.30pm. On arrival we had a drink in the bar before being shown through to our table in the front window which had a great view of the wrekin. The tables were well spaced and it felt special. The menu was different and there were several things we fancied trying so we will have to go back. The idea of sharing starters and desserts is great especially if you want something a little lighter to start although the portions sizes were generous. Having shared pate for starters selected the wild boar something you don't see on menu's all that often it was really tasty and came with lovely thick crispy hot fluffy chips, we also had a side of vegetables which were perfectly cooked but still crisp. Dessert was a hard choice and the crumble was sharp which made it even nicer to finish. The service throughout was professional and friendly and not rushed. We will be going back as my mother put it "the meal felt special and was different" something you don't seem to get too often around Telford

"Wonderful Stay"
Reviewed May 22, 2012
We were given a voucher for a one night stay including an evening meal for christmas and recently decided to book and redeem this. The room was absolutely delightful, modern and tasteful with a spacious shower.
The evening meal was very nice, my only reservation would be that the combinations on the menu were perhaps a little unusual, but the actual food itself was excellent, with most produce locally sourced. Service was brilliant, the staff attentive and friendly. The owners were also very friendly.
Unfortunately we didn't sleep very well as the room was too hot, however this was more down to the fact it was a very muggy night rather than the room itself. As we had the window open due to this there was some road noise what with the establishment being close to a road and our room being on that side. Other than this, we has a wonderful stay, would highly recommend it and will certainly be going back at the very least for dinner.

"week end stay"
Reviewed May 20, 2012
Stayed at the Orleton Inn to celebrate wedding anniversary.Most enjoyable stay, staff friendly and attentive. Impressed by the hotel decor throughout. Found advice on trip advisor very helpful and would recommend The Old Orleton to anyone staying in the area.

"First Class"
Reviewed May 16, 2012 via mobile
I stayed here just for one night and was most impressed the moment I set foot in the door. The staff are very friendly and I was taken to my room (no 10) on the second floor. Everything you needed was there, tea and coffee making facilities, wifi, tv, a very comfortable bed and a good shower. The whole room was spotless.
I enjoyed a superb evening meal which was cooked to perfection. The following morning I had part of the full house breakfast which set me up for the day.
My thanks to the management and staff. It's such a shame that others don't follow your example.
I shall be recommending your hotel in the future. Well done

"Nice to just drop in on a Sunday lunchtime"
Reviewed May 13, 2012
Friendly welcome,clearly quite busy but had a table with no reservation. Nice decor,only had a main course for which we had to wait a fair while,but really enjoyed it.

"Top accommodation and great food"
Reviewed April 30, 2012
A group of us stayed at the Old Orleton for a weekend of gossip with old school friends and some of their long-suffering partners. We were warmly welcomed into this excellent hotel, and wined, dined, and slept in great comfort. The decor is firmly modern, so don't expect chintz, and everyone was delighted with their well-appointed rooms, Mine had a wonderful view, smart furnishings, every extra bit of gear I needed, and a superb bathroom. (Maybe a few too many cushions, but that's being picky). We had beautifully cooked breakfasts - if it's true you can judge a hotel by its scrambled eggs, this one is top class - and two excellent dinners with a wide range of dishes large and small. As the owner if vegetarian himself, the veg options were worth having. Service was both slick and cheerful. It wasn't what I expected in this part of the world, and we were so pleased we're going to repeat the experience (you might want to check the bookings to avoid us!). Also a good base for seeing lots of good places.

"Very Good"
Reviewed April 20, 2012
Spent 3 nights here whilst visiting Ironbridge. Quality accommodation and service. Room,food,cleanliness, service all very good.

"Outstanding"
Reviewed March 28, 2012
I am currently staying at the Old Orleton Inn for the second night. Over the last year I have spent many nights in hotels across the length and breadth of the UK, ranging from 4 star upwards. The Old Orleton Inn offers luxury accommodation, which is immaculate, outstanding value, beautiful surroundings, excellent food and an incredible atmosphere. The staff are professional, approachable, helpful, enthusiastic and genuinely enjoy working at the Inn, nothing is to much trouble for any of them and they will ensure that your stay is above pleasant and enjoyable. This is 5 Star + luxury accommodation at affordable prices, the best of the best! Thank you so much.

“What a treat”
Reviewed 21 February 2012
My husband and I celebrated our wedding anniversery here with a nice champagne dinner. As a fussy eater I was suprised to find a number of dishes on the menu I liked so that was a big thumbs up from me. My husband was pleased to see a pigeon starter. Other than the fab menu the food itself was equally as suprising and absolutely delicious. The guy behind the bar was welcoming, friendly and helpful. The waiting staff were all very polite and prfessional. The Restaurant itself was lovely, very stylish. I can't speak for the hotel as we live local but the rooms look fab!
Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple.

“All you Vegans and Vegetarians out there”
Reviewed 12 February 2012
as a Vegan for many years and before that a Vegetarian I know what I am talking about. I used to visit Peter and Paul's Vegetarian Bistro in Ironbridge for many years with my husband who is a meat eater, but enjoyed their food. We were most upset when they moved and it later closed. So when they opened The Old Orleton in Wellington we decided to give it a try, and we were not disappointed. This restaurant caters for meat eaters and has an excellent choice for Vegans and Vegetarians. Nothing is too much trouble to adapt their menu to help anyone with whatever diet requirements they have. In this area there are many restaurants, but we rarely go anywhere else. The food is freshly prepared and their nut roast is to die for. As I live locally I have never stayed overnight, but I am sure the service is excellent.
Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple

“What a gem of a hotel”
Reviewed 28 January 2012
We had a babysitter for the night (a rare occurrence) and wanted a quaint, homely, well looked after, delightful, cosy, comfy hotel.....and the old orleton inn was all of the above! The decor and finishing touches we're fantastic, the staff couldn't do enough for you, without being intrusive, and the breakfast was tasty and beats any greasy thrown together fry ups that you usually get. Locally sourced products, great service, and a wide range of buffet items, as well as the full English, left us full to bursting! The room had a great view, a comfortable bed, and everything you could think of in terms of 'added extras' to aid the enjoyable stay. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definately return when we have another child free night! Worth every penny, and so pleased we found this beautiful place!
Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple

“Nice”
Reviewed 29 December 2011
We were having a celebration meal here on the 27th and had a lovely time, the staff were very friendly and helpful, we had the set meal (11 of us) and I can honestly say mine was lovely, the lobster medley was wonderful the salmon made such a lovely light change of taste from all the christmas food, and my custard pot was to die for. We were a little cramped in the front bar, as there were other guests but we moved to the middle of of the building and had a lot of fun. Thank you for a good time.
Stayed December 2011, travelled with family

“A gem under the Wrekin”
Reviewed 15 December 2011
We love this restaurant and hotel. The food is always amazing. Interesting and wholesome and beautifully cooked. For breakfast, my brother in law said that he asked what was on the menu and was told - anything he wanted and it was all true. He could not praise the hotel more. I looked at their room and other rooms and they are all beautiful. I particularly enjoy eating there at lunch time - such a treat and so comfortable. I had a birthday dinner there recently and the staff could not have been more helpful.
Fabulous place !! If you can afford it - ask for the best room with the four poster bed.
Stayed November 2011, travelled with family

“Fabulous food.”
Reviewed 12 December 2011
Two of us stopped for lunch and we are glad we did. I can't think of anything bad to say. Everything from soup to coffee was faultless, an excellent local pint too. I would return any time, it's the staff that makes a decent pub come restaurant as well as the food and everyone from the owners to Ben the server were 100%. We paid around £50 for three courses, coffee and a round of drinks. I can't comment about the rooms as we didn't stay overnight tho I did peep into one and it looked great.
Stayed December 2011.

“Nice Weekend Away”
Reviewed 30 November 2011
We stayed here in August over the bank holiday and had a pleasant stay. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was clean and nicely decorated. The only issue was being we were next to a main road there was traffic noise, and we expected it to be more rural setting. As the room was quite warm we had to leave the window open overnight, which did not lead to a great night's sleep.The breakfast was good and we also ate in the restaurant one evening, which was also good.
Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple

“Wonderful Wedding”
Reviewed 12 October 2011
WE had our small wedding here Paul and Pete were great, they did everything for us, nothing was too much trouble. There were 25 of us for lunch and 35 in the evening. We all stopped for 2 nights. All the rooms were really comfortable, and all the little treats added were a nice touch. The food was amazing. I would really recommend this as a venue for your small wedding or function. Thanks guys you helped to make our day truly wonderful.
Stayed September 2011, travelled with family

“Weekend away”
Reviewed 25 September 2011
What a lovely hotel, the food was fantastic, the service was superb and the staff couldn't have been more helpful and polite. All rooms are of the same high standard
Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple

“Absolutely wonderful”
Reviewed 22 August 2011
We stayed in a twin room for the weekend and had breakfast.
Reception welcome was lovely. Staff extremely friendly, helpful and welcoming.
Room was beautiful. Tastefully decorated. Comfortable beds and nice little treats in the room.
Spotlessly clean and tidy.
Breakfast was lovely. Freshly cooked and tasty.
Would definitely recommend.
Fabulous!
Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends

“Outstanding!”
Reviewed 17 July 2011
Just returned from a two night stay at The Old Orleton with my husband. We had high expectations due to all the excellent reviews on here, and we certainly weren't disappointed! We loved the atmosphere of relaxed calm, the beautifully decorated room, all the little extras such as really nice chocolates, and the friendly, attentive service. The meals were fabulous - in fact my meal on Saturday night really was the best vegetarian food I'd ever eaten! The inn provided an excellent base for visiting the Ironbridge Gorge museums and the pretty Shropshire countryside. We were really sad to leave and certainly intend to return. Thanks to everyone concerned for a truly memorable anniversary weekend.
Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple

“Orl's well in Wellington”
Reviewed 27 May 2011
We arrived at this wonderful Inn after a slight detour, having taken a wrong turn, but pointed in the right direction by a very helpful man in the Co-Op at Dothill. We discovered Paul (proprietor) in the garden planting up the borders, pots & planters, which will look sensational in a few weeks time. He showed us to reception, where we met Pete (proprietor) & were given a very warm welcome. We had been given Room 2, an absolute delight, with dual aspect, original features yet contemporary furnishings & fabrics. Lots of lovely touches, different teas, including herbal, coffee, biscuits & chocolates. Excellent en suite shower room with a double sized shower & huge fluffy white towels & facecloths. We had prebooked Dinner for the Friday & Saturday night & were not disappointed, the food was seriously good & the staff pleasant & attentive.
Breakfast was amazing, from the "help yourself" buffet with fresh strawberries, thick yoghourt, ham, cheese, croissants, pains au chocolat plus all the usual suspects to the thickly cut toast wrapped in a napkin to keep it warm. We were asked what we would like in the way of cooked breakfast & could have had anything from poached eggs on toast to a Full English. Being a total pig, I plumped for the English, it was superb, particularly the bacon & sausage, but sadly I rather overfaced myself & apologised to Pete for leaving some. I was absolutely stuffed. I was less greedy on our other two mornings & thoroughly enjoyed scrambled eggs with bacon & mushrooms. The restaurant is not open on a Sunday evening & we had planned to eat elsewhere, however, because we enjoyed the food so much, we decided to book for Sunday lunch instead & ate at 4.00pm. A very good decision. The Old Orleton is a great establishment, where nothing is too much trouble & has been beautifully & tastefully refurbished by two very talented & charming guys. We would totally suggest a stay here & will be visiting again later this year.
Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple

“A First class stay at The Old Orleton”
Reviewed 22 May 2011
We stayed recently at the old ollerton from the moment we arrived till the minute we left had a super stay the staff and owners could not do enough for their guests and the rooms were absolutely superb and the food was first class dinner and breakfast .We are looking forward to returning to the inn very soon .Well worth a visit you will not be dissapointed .. David and Phil
Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends

“A must if you have a vegetarian with you.”
Reviewed 2 May 2011
Great welcome, Beautiful Inn, room decorated very comfortably, Fantastic food - I love a steak but hate it when my partner, a vegetarian, has the choice of a dried microwaved lasagne or omlette, The Old Orleton made him feel special as it had a great menu of choices for him, with no compromise of flavour uniqueness or quality. At breakfast he got a vegetarian breakfast complete with veggie sausages. We didn't once feel like being a veggie was a nuisance. Well done all at the Inn
Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple

“Practically perfect in every way!”
Reviewed 28 April 2011
My partner and I recently enjoyed a two night stay at this hotel and both agreed it was the best hotel either of us had ever stayed at. The rooms were stylishly decorated and modern. The restaurant had a wide variety of excellent food on offer. The breakfasts were huge and prepared to perfection. And to top it all off, the staff were really friendly and helpful. We would recommend this hotel as a fantastic rural get away and hope to stay there again some day.
Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple

“Fantastic food and beautiful surroundings.”
Reviewed 21 March 2011
The hotel is beautifully decorated. All the rooms are individual and have their own style. All the rooms are modern and fresh and very clean.
We had dinner in the hotel. Every course was fabulous. As a vegetarian I was pleased to find three, imaginative choices of main course. There was more than enough food and great wine.
Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple

“Wonderful Surprise”
Reviewed 17 March 2011
What a delightful surprise to stumble on the Old Orleton. The room was a treat, dinner was sublime and staff were all friendly and helpful. It has been completely transformed by the current owners. All the 1950s style fuss has been replaced by boutique comfort and interest. Lovely and very highly recommended.
Stayed March 2011, travelled on business

“Excellent from first minute to the last”
Reviewed 1 February 2011
Highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in the Shropshire area, rooms are to such a high standard as is the friendly service and the food in the restaurant was to die for. Paul and Pete have done a fantastic job here and i stayed in 5 different hotels in the area before this one and now i will never book to stay anywhere else apart from at the old orleton when I'm in the area.
Stayed September 2010, travelled on business

“Little gem”
Reviewed 23 November 2010
We recently stayed here for a family wedding. Accommodation, service and quality of food could not be faulted. We had a super time.
Stayed November 2010, travelled with family

“another excellent stay!x”
Reviewed 22 November 2010
My partner and i have just returned from our third stay at this hotel and we already want to book our fourth! Its such a lovely place to stay and Peter and Paul are excellent hosts.
We have stayed in room 2 lovely decor and feels very special with all the extra touches like the cushions i loved them :). ( don't know what the complaint about traffic is about as we slept perfectly well and no noise at all!) we also stayed in room 5 which was gorgeous with a spa bath and a seating area ! would definitely go to this room for a special occasion as it has all the luxurious extras!! We have just come back from staying in room 3 and we were not disappointed a lovely room with gorgeous four poster bed! i love the fact that all the rooms are different. The only problem is which room to choose next!!! We ate in the restaurant and the two meals we have had here our the best that we have ever had!! can not compliment the chef enough!! so many positives for this place i could just keep typing :) I cant believe how reasonable the price is for what you get! don't look for anywhere but here to stay if you are visiting the area! Thanks to Peter and Paul.
Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple

“Lovely little Inn with a hint of luxury”
Reviewed 22 November 2010
Me and my girlfriend recently escaped for a night away here and found it very much to our liking. We stayed in the Superior bedroom with the spa bath which had ample room for two :-), four poster bed and nicely decorated and furnished. The owner was very friendly and helpful and you got the feeling nothing was any trouble. Breakfast in the morning was more than ample, freshly cooked and set us up well for the day ahead. We would highly recommend and will definitely consider a return visit.
Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple

“Absolutaley fantstic”
Reviewed 18 October 2010
My partner and I have just had a one night stay at this Hotel. I have stayed in many hotels in my time and this was by far the best. The staff were very professional and polite. The rooms were beautifully decorated with the addition of complimentary chocolates and wine. The evening meal was first class with the breakfast being the largest I've ever had. If you have ever considered staying here, do it now! I guarantee you will not be disappointed.
Regards
Paul - Manchester
Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple

“A little gem, almost too good to be true!”
Reviewed 18 October 2010
We arrived late afternoon and was greeted by a lovely young man who was friendly and welcoming. Our room was decorated beautifully, and the fabrics, linens and towels were sumptuous. The floorboards are a little squeaky as was the bed, and we were aware that any movements might be heard through the adjoining walls! Although the en-suite was tiny, it was well equipped and spotless, so no complaints there.
We ate in the restaurant and had a fabulous three course meal, the chef knows his stuff and we couldn't fault the food or the ambiance.
Breakfast was by the far the best offered by any hotel I've ever been to, freshly cooked and with a fabulous buffet to choose cereals and continental options from.
The only real problem with this place is, it's so nice, that one won't want to ever go anywhere else!
I can't wait to return, stay longer and explore the area next time.
Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple

“Fab.Book it now!”
Reviewed 4 October 2010
We have just spent three nights staying in this brill inn.It has been beautifully modernised and is very cosy but yet stylish.Our bedroom was lovely.Very clean and well furnished.Lovely chocolates and biscuits!!The food both at breakfast and at dinner was wonderful.Especially the partridge, venison and puds. We ended up eating there one lunchtime and two dinners.(Unheard of for us as we like eating in different places)The two owners(who seen to work very long hours!) and the staff were all super,and very helpful,even booking our ongoing travel arrangements for us.The inn is set on the edge of Wellington and is handy to the main road into Shrewsbury.We will definitely return to stay here again when in the area.
Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple

“Excellent food and accommodation.”
Reviewed 4 October 2010
We travelled with friends and stayed Friday and Saturday night. We were welcomed on arrival and offered assistance with suitcases. The rooms were nicely appointed with high quality complimentary tea, coffee, biscuits, chocolates and mineral water. Dinner menu had some nice vegetarian options; also partridge and venison - as well as the expected steaks etc. Sensible prices which is also true of the wine list. Breakfast on Saturday was excellent - the best I have had anywhere for a long time. We walked on the Long Mynd on Saturday and enjoyed a very welcome beer and cider in the bar when we got back.
Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends

“Luxury and Comfort”
Reviewed 26 September 2010
We only spent one night here unfortunately but when we go back to Shropshire we shall definitely stay for longer!!! The rooms were beautifully decorated, very clean and comfortable - I appreciated the lovely chocolates in the room!! Dinner was superb - a varied menu, well prepared and presented. Breakfast was excellent too - everything you could possible wish for. The hotel has very well kept gardens and in warmer weather it would be nice to sit at one of the garden tables and enjoy a glass of wine! The Old Orleton Inn is definitely the place to stay when visiting the many interesting places that Shropshire has to offer.
Stayed September 2010, travelled with family

“Wonderful, with excellent service from owners”
Reviewed 14 June 2010
We booked this hotel to meet up with friends who we haven't seen for a few years. As its very popular the only rooms available were the two smallest with a 4'6 bed and a 4' bed, which are normally used for solo business guests. After reading other reviews we were prepared to 'make do' as the hotel seemed to be impressive. I spoke to Pete the owner and asked if we could leave a car in the car park in the morning (prior to booking in time) so that we could go exploring with our friends. Pete said it was no problem, and we could offload our luggage even if it was too early to book in. When we arrived at 11 am our rooms were in fact ready so we were able to book in before exploring the area. The area is fantastic and there are loads of things to see (we would love to return in the future and take advantage of their 3 night package). We booked into the restaurant that night and had the most fantastic meals, all 4 of us were extremely happy with the quality of our food, the chef has a great flair. The ambience was lovely and the owners seem to work extremely long hours as they are present and serving at all times.

In the morning we had a wonderful breakfast with plenty of everything and once again it was cooked beautifully. Again we left one of our cars in the car park after booking out so that we could continue to explore the area. Nothing was too much trouble for Pete and Paul and the way the hotel has been renovated is entirely down to them. They have turned a very old coaching inn, into a contemporary residence that blends the new with the old fantastically, all period details are evident and work extremely well alongside the new. All staff were very friendly and courteous.

We will definitely return to this hotel in the future and will make sure we book early enough to have one of the bigger rooms. Although our room was smaller than others at the Inn, it was still bigger than those you may get in other establishments, and it was decorated beautifully and everything you need was there (Pete had even put wine in our rooms to compensate for the fact that we had the smallest rooms). The bed was very comfortable and the bed linen was lovely. We will definitely return.
Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends

“A little gem of a place”
Reviewed 5 May 2010
We spent three nights at this hotel, having arranged to meet friends from the other end of the country halfway. The outstanding feature was the warmth and friendliness of the owners and their staff. Not that the good features stop there. The whole place was immaculately clean, and the rooms, although perhaps a shade smaller than I would have liked, were furnished to an excellent standard, with little extras such as biscuits, chocolates and mineral water provided. Although the hotel is adjacent to a road junction, traffic noise was at an acceptable level (there is secondary double glazing, which helps). Absolutely NO problem sleeping in the comfortable bed! Food standards were high throughout - three excellent breakfasts and two good dinners as well. A very enjoyable stay! Just one suggestion - a box of Kleenex in the room would have been appreciated.
Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple

“Hotel with wow factor”
Reviewed 19 April 2010
Gorgeous, a real find. Beautifully decorated, great rooms, friendly service, a good restaurant and fabulous breakfast. Stay here .
Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple

“exceeded all our expectations”
Reviewed 18 April 2010
We spent one night in this charming yet sophisticated inn.The 2 people running it were both extremely friendly and helpful and made us feel very welcome. The whole establishment is very tastefully decorated and immaculate throughout. The only downside in the room we stayed in was that the bathroom was on the small side. Having said that, it had a double size shower cubicle with a brilliant power shower. As vegetarians, we were extremely well catered for, with an excellent selection of evening meals and a proper full vegetarian cooked breakfast. The food was superb and the staff in the bar and restaurant were extremely pleasant and customer focused. The location is very good, ideally situated for business or tourists. We will definitely return.
Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple

“Excellent hotel, Perfect for visiting Ironbridge”
Reviewed 7 April 2010
I stayed with a friend over Easter weekend to visit the Ironbridge Gorge museums. It was a short 15 minute drive to Ironbridge, with the inn located just a half mile off the M54, in a quiet location with ample parking. The reception area and rooms were tasteful and immaculately decorated. The room was light and bright with plenty of space in a twin bedded room. The flatscreen tv on the wall had loads of free-view channels, and along with teas and coffee, there were lovely biscuits and chocolate to nibble on, as well as complimentary bottled water.

The bar and restaurant were lovely, the food was as good as I've had in top London restaurants, and the service was impeccable. The owners, Paul and Peter, were lovely to chat to and couldn't do enough for their guests. I mentioned a slight problem with a lamp, while at the bar after dinner, and by the time I got up to the room a short while later, it had been attended to!

I'm hoping to return soon to this lovely inn, and will recommend it to anyone going to Shropshire.
Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends

“Beautiful Hotel”
Reviewed 6 April 2010
A really beautifully renovated building. The rooms are classy and comfortable with calm, stylish decoration.
Our room looked over a pretty garden to the rear of the hotel, we had no problems at all with traffic noise - in fact we saw little traffic at all. ( I find remarks about this by another reviewer difficult to understand.)
The room was perhaps slightly on the narrow side but perfectly adequate. The bathroom was small but extremely clean and provided with fluffy white towels and all the usual toiletries etc. The plumbing - well, OK it was a tad noisy! A sound of rushing water when the taps turned on, but we didn't find it a problem.
The room is provided with a flat screen TV , iron/board, safe, tea/coffee / bottled water etc with biscuits and ..... Chocolate!! Really good!
We ate in the restaurant on Sat night. We were seated promptly - an excellent meal in attractive surroundings. The wine maybe wasn't as cold as we would have liked - but not enough to complain about. The food was delicious, well presented and service was good.
Breakfast was also good with litle extras like toasted hot cross buns ( it was Easter ).

Would we go again ? Yes!
Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple

“A truly magnificent hotel....”
Reviewed 26 January 2010
A friend suggested we stay at this hotel for the weekend.....The rooms are fabulously decorated, each has its own theme. Really modern. The hotel staff are really attentive and cater for your every needs.

We didn't have dinner, but had breakfast the following morning which was nice.

Would definitely stay here again.
Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple

“This place is a jewel, for the whole of Shropshire”
Reviewed 26 August 2009
One of our friends selected this hotel as the venue for her 60th Birthday celebration. We had all eaten there on many previous occasions and had always enjoyed it, as none of us live more that 15miles away, it was the perfect "excuse" to stay overnight. We weren't disappointed. The whole building has been renovated, decorated and furnished to a very high standard, with exquisite taste and attention to detail. Our meal was wonderful (natch!!) Paul and Pete (the owners) had even personalised our copies of the menu to include a Birthday Greeting - not only that, our Birthday friend and her partner had been upgraded to the Bridal Suite at no extra charge. One happy lady gracefully gliding into old(ish) age. If you need to visit Wellington or the surrounding area, it would be madness not to stay here.
Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends

“absolutely lovely”
Reviewed 17 August 2009
I spent quite some time trying to find somewhere lovely to stay in this area, and was delighted when I came across the Old Orleton on TA. We arrived late afternoon, and were shown to our room, which was gorgeous. Beautifully decorates with lots of wee touches which showed a real attention to detail. The decor was contemporary yet classic at the same time, and suited the building, but you felt you were somewhere special.

We chilled on our 4 poster bed watching a bit of TV on the wall mounted flat screen, before heading downstairs for dinner. The bar and dining area were busy at 7.30 and remained so throughout the evening. We had 3 courses (me - pate, steak and liquorice ice cream, husband - quail, lamb, cheese)., and they were all excellent. The main courses in particular stood out - we both like our meat very rare, at both were cooked to perfection. My husband chose the wine so I not sure what the wine list was like, but the one we had was delicious (both bottles). Service was good - no complaints at all. Breakfast was equally good - we had scrambled eggs with smoked salmon which was delicious - lots of toast, lovely coffee, and a selection of fruit, cereal, pastries, cheese and cold meat if you wanted it.

All in all a delightful place - comfortable, friendly, reasonable, tasty. Only negative we could think of was that our room didn't have a wall mounted shower, but other than that, we were very happy, and will be back.
Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple

“Lovely hotel, outstanding food, welcoming hosts”
Reviewed 9 February 2009
I stayed at the Old Orleton in October with my husband and seven of our friends. The rooms were decorated with individuality and style and the food was outstanding - all nine of us thoroughly enjoyed our evening meal. The waiting staff did not hover over us but checked that everything was ok from time to time which suited me. The breakfast was the best hotel breakfast I have had. We were celebrating my 40th birthday and became a bit rowdy towards the end of the night but it was taken in good humour by all the staff and was handled very professionally! Would strongly recommend this hotel and will certainly be returning in the future.
Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends

“Enoyed staying at The Old Orleton”
Reviewed 25 August 2008
We were lucky to get the only room left for August Bank Holiday. Perfectly located for our visit to Shropshire. A lovely welcoming hotel with beautiful decor. Pristine with excellent food and service.
“fantastic welcome”
Reviewed 24 August 2008
What a gem! the welcome is warm and friendly . The inn is beautifully restored with a contemporary decor scheme which reveals and enhances the period details of this 18th century building and unlike many modern hotels there is art on the walls and interesting objects and ornaments around which gives a warm feeling. There are 10 (i think) individually designed bedrooms. I stayed in a lovely room with en suite shower. It was immaculate- clean, tidy and beautifully decorated with a modern wallpaper and furniture, but allowing the old timber frame of the building to be shown off. The towels are super sized and soft and best of all there
is a super selection of tea, coffee and - wait for it----chocolates!!!!
I spent a very comfortable night and in the morning had a simply fabulous breakfast. At this inn they use as much locally produced food as possible and the sausage and bacon were very tasty - they come from nearby Much Wenlock. Shropshire and its food certainly deserves a wider audience and if you are thinking of visiting Shropshire you could do no better than making The Old Orleton your headquarters.
Stayed August 2008, travelled solo


“Outstanding hotel in Wellington”
Reviewed 12 August 2008
We chose this hotel to celebrate our daughter's birthday. She lives in Stafford and us in London so wanted to spend the weekend with her.
We stayed two nights and would recommend it to anyone wanting to stay or just eat in the restaurant both fantastic.
we had a double room and our daughter had the superior room. This had a four poster bed, settee and armchairs and a whirlpool bath, what a lovely birthday present.
The attention to detail in both rooms was amazing, we just gasped as we opened the door!!
It's not too far from Shrewsbury, Ironbridge and other beautiful places nearby.
Stayed August 2008, travelled with family

“What a find!”
Reviewed 15 July 2008
The Old Orleton Inn exceeded our expectations. This old coaching inn has been tastefully restored and provides comfortable accommodation in well appointed rooms. The 10 rooms are individually styled to give a “boutique” appearance. Our room was spotlessly clean, and the bed was extremely comfortable.

The 2 dining rooms are very popular with local diners and were fully booked each night that we stayed; little wonder, as the menu is tempting and the standard of food excellent.

We stayed for 3 nights in June and found our hosts Peter and Paul very welcoming; relaxed but attentive to all our needs. They value their first-class staff and the inn runs like a well oiled machine. It was easy to see why the Old Orleton is so popular. We were very sorry to leave after 3 days and we will definitely be back!
Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple

“Fantastic”
Reviewed 16 June 2008
What a fantastic place. If you're looking for an individual, tasteful and very friendly place to stay you'd struggle to find better.

The rooms are beautifully appointed, the food is excellent, the staff are all very helpful.

It's obvious from the moment you arrive that the owners, Peter and Paul, have considered every aspect of the 'inn' experience and take great pride in their inn.

Perhaps the highest recommendation for any 'inn' is that it is used by the locals, we stayed for three nights and every night the restaurant was full of locals. The menu is simply glorious, good quality local food, well cooked and served in good quantities, with a good selection of vegetarian food.

I heartily recommend The Old Orleton Inn.
Stayed June 2008, travelled on business

“what a find....”
Reviewed 3 February 2008
We came across the Old Orleton on Trip Advisor when looking for a last minute weekend breakaway. We were looking for something unique and not too pricey and after numerous days of looking at big hotel chains we where getting a bit frustrated. We booked direct with the hotel on Thursday night and checked in the next day. We were very pleasantly surprised... the check in was very friendly and the room exceeded our expectations - normally the rooms never look like the website but ours did!! Lovely boutique style decoration throughout the hotel and SPOTLESSLY clean. We'd made a dinner reservation for 7.15pm and had a few drinks in the bar first. The food was gorgeous and served beautifully by very professional staff. We had a lovely evening, Breakfast the next morning was to the same high standard that we'd already come to expect after just 1 night! The owners Peter and Paul where very accommodating, so much so, we've already booked to stay again, this time taking family with us. This really is a little gem with much attention to detail, everything we thought we would need to take was already there, everything had been thought out in the "do as you wish to be done by" style, we loved it.
Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple

“Wow!!!”
Reviewed 24 September 2007
Booked the Old Orleton as a last resort after struggling to find somewhere to stay for one night. On arrival our room was ready even though we arrived early. On being shown to our room (number 5), what can I say? I was blown away!! It was gorgeous with a seating area and a bed that you didn't want to leave. The decor was amazing , but it was the little touches that did it for me, the small cushions on the bed, the way the top of the four poster bed could be lit up. We were there celebrating our 10th wedding anniversary and it was the perfect place for us. My husband had arranged for flowers, chocolates and a balloon to be in the room when we arrived, but I was so blown away by the room I didn't even notice them!

The bath was big enough for two and the jacuzzi effect was very relaxing.

We ate in the Bistro and the food was lovely with a vast menu - even for a very fussy veggie like me. The food is freshly cooked so takes a little while - but who cares when you can relax in a lovely setting with a glass (or two) of wine? Breakfast was also fresh and hearty.

I could go on and on about how prefect I found this place to be, but if you are due to stay there I wouldn't like to spoil the wow factor for you. Oh Yeah, don't try to book room 5 for valentines day - we've already done that !! Sorry!
Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple

“fantastic”
Reviewed 14 September 2007
the old orleton is fantastic. It is newly decorated and the owners have taken trouble to make the place look special. The food is brilliant and there is an excellent selection of interesting vegetarian food.

Our room was lovely.

The owners are friendly and happy to help.

There is proper ale on tap.
Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple

“A Hidden Gem!”
Reviewed 23 July 2007
We spent a night at this hotel for our first wedding anniversary, and it is really different! It's a 17th century coaching inn on the outside, and an intimate, trendy, tasteful boutique hotel inside. The 10 rooms are beautifully decorated, in a modern, comfortable way, with huge comfortable beds, and spotless modern bathrooms and lots of nice extras like choccy biccies and fresh flowers everywhere
There is a brasserie with a wonderful inventive menu, not pricey and a restaurant where we ate a 3 course set meal for £29.95, which was as good as many top notch London restaurants in terms of choice and cooking. The wine list is also good and interesting
The massive breakfast (included in the price) left us staggering, it was so generous!
The two guys who run it lavish every care on guests, and the inn is a reflection of their tastes.
If you want a really tasteful place to stay, near countryside, which is very reasonably priced and very welcoming, this is the place!
Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple

eviivo

130 EVIIVO REVIEWS HERE